Gas Chromatography: Varian CP 3800 GC

In summary, this machine is a chromatography workstation that is used by mechanical engineering students to analyze drugs.
Saladsamurai
Hello people! I am wondering if anyone uses this machine? I am a mechanical engineering student and I have one in my laboratory. I have quite a bit of documentation on the machine, however, a lot of it is like a foreign language to me.

Before I start asking any questions, I wanted to know if anyone uses or has used this machine with the Star Chromatography Workstation?

Thank you :smile:

Chemistry news on Phys.org
litup said:
I worked for Varian for almost 20 years as a field service engineer but on ion implanters. I ran into the 3800 a few times in cleanrooms around the world. Here is a Varian clip on the beast:

http://www.varianinc.com/image/vimage/docs/products/chrom/gc/shared/gc3800bro_r1.pdf

Hi litup :smile: Thanks for the clip. The more the better. I am looking for some "tutorial" type stuff. I was hoping to find something at a university website somewhere, but no such luck yet. If anyone knows of something like this, feel free to point me in that direction.

Saladsamurai said:
Hi litup :smile: Thanks for the clip. The more the better. I am looking for some "tutorial" type stuff. I was hoping to find something at a university website somewhere, but no such luck yet. If anyone knows of something like this, feel free to point me in that direction.
That is one cadillac machine! Here is a "getting started" manual for the model. I don't know if you have a paper version of this manual, but it's pretty darned big for "getting started".
http://www.scribd.com/doc/25762337/CP-3800-GC-Getting-Started-Manual