1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gauss's Law/Energy Problem with Concentric Spheres

1. Oct 14, 2007 #1
    Hi there. I'm new to PF, so please correct me on any mistakes in presenting my question. I'm just hoping to get some direction in doing this problem right.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Concentric spherical shells of radius a and b, with b > a, carry charge Q and -Q, repsectively, each charge uniformly distributed. Find the energy stored in the electric field of this system.
    (From Purcell, Electricity and Magnetism, 2nd Ed. [I hate this book :yuck:])

2. Relevant equations

From Gauss's Law (for a sphere)
    E= [tex] Q/r^2 [/tex]

U = [tex] \frac{1}{8\pi} \int_{Entire field} E^2 dv[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution

I know I just have to sum up the E field and integrate over the volume of the entire sphere (or rather wherever the field is non-zero?) and that the E field will end up being a constant (or am I completely wrong?)

E inside inner sphere = 0 (field is zero inside spherical shell of charge)
    E outside inner sphere = [tex]Q/(a^2)[/tex]
    E inside outer sphere = [tex]-Q/b^2 + Q/a^2[/tex] (This one is the one I'm really unsure on)
    E outside outer sphere = 0 (total charge is [tex]Q+(-Q) = 0[/tex])

And then do I integrate the E field squared in spherical coordinates from a to b? (As I end up with it as a constant I feel like I'm doing something wrong.)
    Any help is greatly appreciated (I'm awful at E&M).

edit: Forgot to mention this is all in cgs units, not mks/si.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2007 #2

learningphysics

Homework Helper

I'm confused... there are 30 concentric spherical shells? or just 2? (one at a and one at b?)