Geometric realization of topology

• Thread starter s_jubeh
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello,

Suppose that I have a cell complex and I want to define it's geometric realization, I can do it via mapping such that assign coordinates to 0-cells. however how can i do that for edges, faces and volumes. is there is ageneral formulas for lines, faces and volumes.

Regards

Answers and Replies

Hello,

Suppose that I have a cell complex and I want to define it's geometric realization, I can do it via mapping such that assign coordinates to 0-cells. however how can i do that for edges, faces and volumes. is there is ageneral formulas for lines, faces and volumes.

Regards
For a simplicial complex there is a simplicial map of the complex into the standard simplex in n-dimensions - where n is the number of vertices in the complex.

Dear wofsy,

I did not understand your reply " I am not an expert in this field". Actually my problem lies in representing geometrical objects. Suppose that I have a cell complex (cw-complex) such that each cell in this complex can be a assigned geometrical realization.

fro example

vertix ----> point

edge ----> line (curved )

face ----> surface

if I am talking about linear complex, it is enough to assign points to vertexes. however suppose that the mesh that I want to represent is curvilinear mesh. this is not possible.

Regards

Dear wofsy,

I did not understand your reply " I am not an expert in this field". Actually my problem lies in representing geometrical objects. Suppose that I have a cell complex (cw-complex) such that each cell in this complex can be a assigned geometrical realization.

fro example

vertix ----> point

edge ----> line (curved )

face ----> surface

if I am talking about linear complex, it is enough to assign points to vertexes. however suppose that the mesh that I want to represent is curvilinear mesh. this is not possible.

Regards