1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Getting a degree in physics after MD?

1. Jan 5, 2013 #1
    I am an MBBS student currently in my third semester and I wanted to know that whether I can get a degree in physics after my MD (which I surely will be doing after my MBBS ). My interest in physics hasn't died down a bit since I left High school but well physics isn't much required in medicine so I won't be studying physics any more during my MBBS or MD so the question is can I get a degree in physics later in life and M.sc probably? Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 5, 2013 #2
    Dude, you can but why? xD

4. Jan 5, 2013 #3
    But Why not?? :confused:

5. Jan 5, 2013 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Because

• It costs a lot of money
    • One degree will be useless since you won't work both as a physicist and an MD
    • You will have forgotten most of your medical studies once you finished with physics
    • You are not guaranteed to even like physics or be good at it

6. Jan 5, 2013 #5
    This guy studied medicine in the Netherlands (5-6 year program, I believe), and then went for a MD/PhD at Harvard. The good news is that MD-PhDs are funded. The bad news is I don't know how you'd be able to prove that you are qualified to conduct biophysics research.

Perhaps studying on your own, and acing the physics GRE and/or conducting research.

7. Jan 5, 2013 #6

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

There is nothing to say you couldn't go on into physics after completing a medical degree. If you have the time and the money to do it, you'll likely be able to.