1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Getting in Northeastern University

1. Dec 16, 2011 #1
    Hi,

My name is Bruno.

I'm applying to Physics at Northeastern university. I have a Fellowship to study there (from another institution). My problem is that I have failed the IELTS exam (6 and I needed a 6.5). I will try the TOEFL, but I don't have too much time.

I also have a master degree with good grades.

If I fail in the TOEFL it is still possible to get in?

Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2011 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

You'll have to ask them.

4. Jan 3, 2012 #3
    Hi,

I'd like to know what are my chances to get in the Univeristy.
    I have a master degree in physics and my grades are:
    17 in masters (scale of 20)
    15 in bachelors (scale of 20) T
    hey are good grades.

I have a fellowship that pays until 17000 (year) dollars for the tuition and also covers all living expenses. I didn't get a straigth answer for the exact value of the tuition, but I think that the fellowship isn't enough. For the rest of the money I will need to ask for financial aid.

I'm waiting for the gre results.
    My physics gre went good.
    In the end of the gre general they estimated my scores and the quantitative was low for a physicist (740 in the old scale). I left some question in blank do to time (4 in the total), but the rest was correct.
    Maybe I forgot to click to mark some answers. I really don't.

I'm working in two publication, but I don't think that they will be completed in time.

I have strong recommendation letters from very good scientists. (one in specific is really famous in my field)

I have earned two grants.