Grad School for the less fortunate?

In summary, an undergraduate with mediocre grades and no research experience may struggle to get into a good graduate school. However, if you have stellar grades and good research experience, you may have a better chance.
Vardonir
Hi. I've been lurking the forums for quite some time now, but I haven't found an answer to what I wanted to know.

I'm currently an undergrad double majoring in Applied Physics and "Computer Systems" (a.k.a., Computer Engineering, they just changed the name) from a "not-that-bad" (Physics-wise, according to a prof) University at the Philippines. My grades are not that stellar, due to the fact that this uni likes to shove useless subjects (at least, in my opinion) down the throat of all students (...and charges astronomical fees for all of it). When converted to an American GPA, my grades are very slightly below 3.00 (And my majors-only GPA is ~3.12).

I want to go to grad school after, preferably to an English-speaking country, like US. But then I saw at some websites just how much tuition and living costs (about 10 times than what I have now). And then there's the minimum grades, too. I kinda lost hope.

I also saw that some schools provide financial assistance. But I don't know if I'm qualified for those. Judging by my grades alone, I'm guessing I won't be.

Is there anything I can do as an undergrad (e.g., get experienced in something, make connections, etc?) that can offset my lack of good grades and lack of money?

PS: I also want to go to Japan, but I can't get much information about grad school there. :|

Physics news on Phys.org
What do you want to go to grad school for? A PhD in physics? A masters degree in engineering? There are important differences

Vardonir said: