1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Admissions Graduating in Five Years and Admissions

1. Jan 9, 2007 #1
    Hello, I am a fourth year student at a decent public school. My GPA is 3.986, I haven't taken the GRE yet but I got 99th percentile on my SATs, and I have done very well on practice tests, so I am hoping to have very high scores. I also did an REU last summer and have been doing research with a professsor for two quarters now.

My question is this: I decided on the physics major late, so that I am behind the traditional coursework. I am torn between two options: I can graduate in the spring as I am supposed to with a degree in astrophysics, or I can stay an extra quarter to get a degree in physics.

My problem is that, although my interest is primarily in astrophysics, I don't want to shut the door on the option of physics graduate school. I am curious as to how the astrophysics major would be perceived for physics admissions. The coursework between the two is very similar except for one thing: I wouldn't have taken a formal thermodynamics course (astrophysics has a similar course that covers much of the material, but is not the same).

Another problem is that I intend to apply for graduate school in Fall 2008. So, I am not sure what to do with myself in between graduating and going to graduate school. It seems that most programs require you to be a continuing student, so that I would not be eligible. But I am not sure how realistic it is to get a real job, since I can only commit to the short time period. Any suggestions about this? Sorry again for the long question, I appreciate the help.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2007 #2