Gravity and its effect on particles/molecules and bonds.

In summary, particles that are not moving are not affected by gravity, but the presence of matter in space-time will be sufficient for it to experience a force of gravity.
g__ritchie
To start off with I am only a layman in the subject, in actual fact I've just finished my GCSE year. Please forgive me if I have misinterpreted any area. To this end, my question is whether particles/molecules that are not moving are affected by gravity? Using Einstein's theory of gravity as opposed to the Newtonian theory, a disruption in the space-time has to occur for gravity to exist. Ergo, I am lead to believe that if a sole particle/molecule is not moving, it would not be affected by gravity. However, is it the energy in bonds that form between the particles/molecules that disrupt the space-time and hence will induce gravity? Furthermore, could the moving electrons, whether they are in cloud or particle form, induce gravity by their movement and unequal spread of negativity? As I said I am only a layman so please if any off this question doesn't make sense or is wrong, please correct me. Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Not sure how to interpret your question. On the one hand, nothing is ever "not" moving strictly speaking. Leaving that nit-pick aside, neither GR or Newtonian gravity care whether the particle is moving. Not sure what your'e getting at.

It's definitely not just the binding energy that causes gravity. It's the total mass/energy - which includes the binding energy of course. But solo protons and electrons and neutrons still fall to the earth.

g__ritchie said:
To this end, my question is whether particles/molecules that are not moving are affected by gravity?