1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gravity and space curvature confusion

1. Jan 9, 2012 #1
    Hello there. I'm new to the forums obviously. And I'm also quite new to physics. I've read many existing answers about how this works but I can't really understand how it would logically work out.

From what I've understood. Gravity is not a force. Objects move in a straight line unaltered by other forces and space is curved around the gravity source which leads to the change in trajectory of light and objects. If I've understood this correctly, it doesn't make one bit of sence in my head.

Here is an image I put together to explain my confusion.

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/4609/gravity.png [Broken]

All this tells me is that the object is bigger than what it appears to be in the graph.

Also: Since objects move in a straight line. Shouldn't light have the exact same trajectory alteration around a gravity source as an object?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Hmm, this should probably be under General Relativity.

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2012 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The grid is just static lines that don't represent anything physical, they just show the amount of curvature of space. Imagine rolling a marble on the purple line on a trampoline towards a bowling ball. It would not act like the green line, as that would require to move AWAY from the center instead of staying on it's geodesic. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geodesic

4. Jan 10, 2012 #3