Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gravity and Universal expansion

1. Apr 29, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone!
    I am new to cosmology and have come across this unbelieving interesting field quite recently ( after reading 'A Brief History of Time' to be honest ). This is my first post in PF.

Hubble first discover that the universe is expanding with non-constant, accelerating velocity. Also according to GR, gravity is caused by curvature of space-time caused by Earth's Mass. My question is, if earth is (being a part of the expanding universe) expanding with accelerating velocity in a particular direction, where does the counter gravity produced by it goes? For simplicity, if we consider the elevator as earth we can feel extra 'push' to floor while elevator is going upward. Where does that extra push goes in case of earth?

My question might seem a bit awkward to someone may be but I believe in 'no shame in asking question' principle :)

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 29, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hubble never discovered that the expansion was accelerating. This is a recent discovery.

No, gravity is curvature of space-time created by all energy and momentum content in the Universe.

This is a misconception. The Earth is not accelerating in any direction. The expansion of the universe is an expansion rate, which means that distances are getting larger at a speed which is directly proportional to the distance itself. It does not have a direction associated to it.

4. Apr 29, 2015 #3

Bandersnatch

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi Ahmed, welcome to PF!

Let me expand on Orodruin's answer.