1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Great physics college with good financial aid?

1. Sep 19, 2010 #1
    Alright, I live in GA and I'm studying to apply to Caltech as a transfer. This is a great reach but with hard work who knows? I'm a freshman at some lower tier college and I think I can get a 4.0. I'm also applying to GATech for a safety. I need some colleges to apply in between these extremes but I need financial aid for these candidates. I don't want to exceed 10-15k in loans per semester. Help?

As a side note, is there a difference if I go to GT which is ranked #30 than say, Berkely, which is #5? (according to USNews, but they enumerated it weird. GT should be #12 and Berkely #2 if MIT, Caltech, etc all share #1)

Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2010 #2
    If all colleges except for Sucky State University of Sucking were tied for number 1 with a perfect score and Sucky State was the only college to receive a zero score, would you call Sucky State the second best college in the country?

4. Sep 19, 2010 #3
    No offense to anyone who actually attends Sucky State. I was just using it as an example.

5. Sep 19, 2010 #4