Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help: MATLAB time step function

1. Jan 11, 2015 #1
    Hi guys I'm new to MATLAB but now i need to use it for my study. I've tried to learn by myself to run it but unfortunately it failed, so I need some guidance on how to run following time step function in MATLAB

St = St-1 + Pt - ETt, St-1 + Pt - ETt ≤ Smax
    = Smax, St-1 + Pt - ETt > Smax

then

Rt = 0, St-1 + Pt - ETt ≤ Smax
    = Pt - (Smax - St-1) - ETt, St-1 + Pt - ETt > Smax

Pt = rainfall depth
    ETt = evapotranspiration rate
    S = Retained rainwater depth in substrate
    Smax = maximum retention capacity
    R = runoff
    it is a hourly time step function, hourly rainfall data for a year will be inserted to the function
    i would be really appreciated if anyone could help me.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2015 #2

FactChecker

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I have a hard time understanding what your equations are trying to do,( although I think I can guess). Do commas separate equations? If so, what does "=Smax," at the beginning of line 2 mean? It may help if you add some comments and break up the lines into simpler parts. You will want to do that in the MATLAB code anyway. When code doesn't work, try to do calculations in baby steps. You can combine them later into more complicated equations.
    [Edit] Oh, I see now that the comma means 'if' Maybe you should post the MATLAB code that you tried to run.

4. Jan 12, 2015 #3
    thank you for your kind response, maybe you can refer to the pic below & the function actually looks like this Function.jpg
    i don't know how to explain the commas (sorry i'm not good in explaining things) , but its similar to simple function like this
    Rt = (R1, R2, R3...) where R1, R2, R3 is the Rt calculated at every hour.
    In this case, Smax = 16mm, Rt and St equations are different before and after it reach Smax