Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How can I make myself like math more?

1. Jan 28, 2009 #1
    Hey everyone,

I'm in my first year of electrical engineering, so as you can guess I'm not really taking any serious engineering courses yet - just general math and science. I'm pretty good at math... but I don't enjoy it that much. I've gotten by so far on my talent alone, but now that we're getting into more complex integration problems, I know that I'll need to do practice homework as well as the assignments we get, in order to do as well as I want to. The thing is, I find it hard to concentrate on math homework for a long time. Taking periodic breaks helps, but I still end up taking way longer than I should to finish my homework, just because I need to keep coaxing myself into concentrating. Once I do concentrate, I can usually solve the problems, though.

Anyway, like I said in the title, how can I make myself like math more? I don't expect to end up loving it with a passion, but I would like to be able to see it in a way that makes it more satisfying to me. Any input would be appreciated.

P.S. Someone might bring this up, so I'll address it in advance: the upper year courses look very interesting to me, and I know that I can do well in them if I build a solid foundation in my first and second year, so there's no doubt in my mind that electrical engineering is the right degree for me. When the math is applied to something that I'm interested in, staying focused is easy, and I rarely need to take breaks. My concern at the moment is mainly just to find a way to be more interested in pure math, for as long as I need to take pure math courses.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 28, 2009 #2
    What math course are you taking?
  4. Jan 29, 2009 #3
    The harder you try now sean the more you will get paid later on.