1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do I choose which graduate school to attend?

1. Mar 17, 2013 #1
    I have so far been admitted to three graduate programs in pure math. Without being too specific, all three schools are top-40 programs (one of which is also top 20, and another is top 30) - these numbers have been extracted from the NRC and US news rankings for graduate math programs.

As I am an international student, I cannot travel to these places, so I really want to act quickly to free up some of the spots for people on the waiting list.

All three schools are solid in my fields of interest (Topology and Geometry). I've also been told that faculty members I might be interested in working with are available to advise students.

I would appreciate any pointers - how do I choose? Based on location? Or do I just go by the rankings here? Please feel free to PM me if you are interested in discussing this at length.

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 17, 2013 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Everyone has their own set of uniquely weighted parameters to maximize in this problem. Some things you may want to do if you haven't already done these before applying:

(1) Email potential advisors. Initiate a dialog to help define a project. Try to learn about their supervisory style and what they expect from graduate students and then figure out if this will mesh with your learning style. Also look at what they've been publishing recently.

(2) Email other graduate students. Ask what their experiences have been like so far and if they would recommend the program and particular advisors.

(3) Research recent graduates. Are they ending up where you would like to end up?