1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do I Locate Specific Research?

1. Jul 27, 2011 #1
    Could I get instructions to help find original research? Looking up research seems to be a laborious process if one is not sure of the exact title.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 27, 2011 #2
    Tips from experienced researchers, please! :smile:

4. Jul 27, 2011 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Well you have to have some idea of what you're looking for in the first place. You don't need an exact title (unless you're looking for a specific paper), but you should be able to come up with relevant keywords. Then you can use any number of search engines to zero in on topics of interest. Probably the one I most commonly use is PubMed (because I'm a medical physicist).

Once you have a specific topic that you're following, you tend to browse through the journals that publish in that area on a regular basis. Some journals even allow you to set up alerts so that monthly, any articles that are published under topics of interest to you have the abstracts forwarded to you by email.

It's also worth noting that performing exhaustive literature searches IS a laborious process.

5. Jul 27, 2011 #4

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey Thing1 and welcome to the forums.

Is the research relatively old or new?

If it's a little older than most, then I have found (in mathematics) that things like monographs and the like tend to be published where a group of experts publishes a handbook that collects a lot of results together and makes something that makes it easier for the researcher.