How do/should you study math? (graduate level)

• Thread starter sabbthdaylake
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the conversation discusses the approach to studying textbooks, specifically in terms of working out every detail and balancing efficiency and honesty. The speaker shares their experience with different textbooks and how they handle typos and errata in some texts. They also ask for advice on whether to skip details or grind them out and whether skipping details means not being able to use results hinging on them. The speaker mentions their idealistic approach of working out every proof and filling in all gaps, but also acknowledges the issue of efficiency.
sabbthdaylake
greetings,

when i read textbooks, i always make sure to work out every single detail of every single statement and proof.

i'm in my first year of graduate school, and i find that sometimes i can't do this, either because the book I'm working on isn't very good, or because i don't have enough time.

for example, I'm currently up to page 117 of rotman's algebraic topology text. (rotman, as some of you might know, is notorious for typos and errata in his algebra texts. I'm actually compiling a list for him for errors I've found in this text.) I'm starting to not care about some of the combinatorial details of barycentric subdivision. i want to just get to the applications to euclidean space, and frankly, the qualifying exam probably won't ask about said details.

some textbooks i can just breeze through (e.g. munkres' book on manifolds, and his book on topology) while doing most of the problems and reading everything thoroughly. other books aren't as well written, though. (i've been unfortunate to have come across some of them in my first year, wasting tons of my time. this is a whole other issue.)