1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Much Force is Needed?-Part Two.

1. Jan 9, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A 1200 car traveling at 110 km/h comes to a stop in 8.0 seconds. Assume that the acceleration is constant. What force is required to stop the car?

2. Relevant equations

F=ma
    a=Δv/Δt

3. The attempt at a solution

First I converted so that I could give the answer in Newtons.
    v=30m/s
    m stays the same.
    T=8 seconds
    a=Δv/Δt
    a= 3.75 m/s^2

At this point, I think either my unit conversion or my equation was wrong,as 3.75 m/s^2 seems somewhat slower than usual for a physics problem involving a car. But continuing with the problem, I get 450 Newtons. I'm new to Newtons, so I don't know if this is a reasonable answer. Could I please get a confirmation?

Thanks! :smile:

Last edited: Jan 9, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2014 #2
    What is the mass of the car? Is it 1200kg?
    Your answer would be 4500N in that case.

Note that this is not work done all the way to stop the car. It is an amount of force required to slow the car's velocity by 3.75m/s in every passing second.

If you want to calculate all the work that is required to stop the car you would have go further: there are 2 ways to go about it, if you are interested.

4. Jan 9, 2014 #3
    The mass of the car was 1500 kg. :smile:

Oh, okay. So my answer is correct? Would you please help me wrap my mind around the idea that the sheep stops faster than the car? Is it just because the sheep was moving slower, so it was easier to stop?

Yes, I would love to try calculating the work!! I haven't gone nearly that far in my physics class yet,so it may require slowly walking through it. Thanks!

5. Jan 9, 2014 #4