Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much weight could this hold?

1. Jun 17, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone, this is my first time here and I was wondering if you could help.

I would like to know if there is a way of calculating how much weight this simple component could hold. It will be made from mild steel.

TIA

Scott

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2015 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

How would you go about figuring that out?

4. Jun 17, 2015 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

What do you mean by holding weight? In which axis? In compression or in tension? What is the application? (hopefully not for a balcony in Berkeley...)

5. Jun 17, 2015 #4
    Sorry I should of added more detail. Imagine it's a chain link vertically, and it's under tension.

6. Jun 17, 2015 #5

berkeman

What is the application?

7. Jun 17, 2015 #6
    Sorry I meant horizontally, I'm really tired tonight lol. It's part of a slackline setup.

8. Jun 17, 2015 #7

berkeman

9. Jun 17, 2015 #8
    Erm..not quite lol. I hope it wouldn't combust.

10. Jun 17, 2015 #9

berkeman

The problem is, we can't discuss potentially dangerous activities here on the PF (that's in the Rules link at the top of the page under Info). If you don't have the background to do the calculation yourself, it's probably not a good idea for you to be trying to make a DIY slackline setup. Aren't there commercially available slackline setups that have different weight ratings?

11. Jun 17, 2015 #10
    I thought there might be some materials software for working out things like this. I know this would take plenty of tension, I just wondered if I could work out how much.

If I compare the dimensions to avaliable items, this is overkill (comparison with a quick link for example).

12. Jun 17, 2015 #11

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper