1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How perfect does one have to be to become a theorist?

1. Dec 3, 2008 #1
    So, I am wondering:

Do admissions committees for physics grad programs take into account the courseload of a given semester? So, if I had straight A's my junior year for a normal/average courseload, but then had to take a ridiculous courseload the following semester (5 upper level/graduate classes) and got, say, straight B's and C's, am I doomed?

Everyone on these forums makes it sound like you have to be perfect to do theory - perfect GRE scores, 4.0, etc. I am a good student, but even I am struggling with 5 hard classes at the same time as studying for the physics gre, etc. Is there still hope or do I have to go into something else now? I'm not aiming for Ivy league schools, I just want to get in somewhere with research in my field...
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 3, 2008 #2
    I don't think you have to be perfect... but I do think it is a bit field-dependent.... in some fields you may have to be more perfect than in other fields. It might help, therefore, if you'd list your interest (does it have to do with quasars?)... as well as where you might be interested in going to grad school. :biggrin:
  4. Dec 3, 2008 #3