1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to become a fund manager (in US)

1. Apr 8, 2010 #1
    I was wondering what are the legal requirements to become a fund or portfolio manager in US?

I'm a computer engineer by profession, and I have no degree in finance. I can see, there are many highly qualified engineers who are really bad with their 401k/stock portfolio. Many of my colleagues think I am good at financial analysis and suggested me that I can get at least a million dollars from my colleagues to manage. Part of he reason is, I was able to predict the 2000 and 2008 market crashes with a fair amount of accuracy, and asked everyone to sell their stocks. What are my options as a part time fund manager, with a professional financial degree and without one?

2. jcsd
  3. May 4, 2010 #2
    How did you foresee the crashes

4. May 4, 2010 #3
    I am interested too how you were able to predict it. I have a few questions:
    1. When you said you were able to "predict the 2000 and 2008 market crashes with a fair amount of accuracy", how accurate (in terms of timing and severity) was that? And based on what information were you able to make such a prediction?
    2. So, you said you were accurate when you were bearish, were you able to be bullish at the right time too? If you are bias towards being bearish, then I would have no surprise in your ability in predicting crash. But to be able to take advantage of that and make money, you have to be able to predict accurately a bull market as well.