1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to find good people in a field?

1. Jan 8, 2014 #1
    How to "find" good people in a field?

So I'm a 3rd year student, not quite at the stage to be applying for grad school, but almost there. I'm trying to get a preliminary idea about where I'd like to go/apply to. From what I've gathered, of course it's great to go to a "top ranked" school (according to the internet rankings anyway), but it's better to go to a school that is good in your intended area, as if it's a "good" school, but no one there does what you wanna study, there's a good chance of not being admitted since you'd essentially be on your own. So I'd like to know of a process to find out who's good in a particular area. I'm going to be applying for pure math, but just generally speaking, how does one determine "it'd be better to go to X for algebra since they person Y, or don't go to school Z because although they have people in algebra, they don't publish much" or something along those lines. All I have to work with right now are things like US-news rankings and what not, but I somehow feel like those aren't complete trustworthy all the time. Any advice? Sorry if I come off misinformed - I very well might be. But it just seems like a lot of forums, people, etc. just talk about the "top ranked" schools, and I'd like a different perspective.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 8, 2014 #2
    I was recently in a situation similar to yours and found a solution quite by accident. If your university or one near you hosts a conference, go to it.