• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Studying How to fortify my physics knowledge

I am currently a senior undergraduate majoring in both math and physics. This summer will be my only chance for a long vacation in three years since it is the only time that I am taking no courses.

In this period of approx. three months I want to fortify my knowledge in physics and maybe math (however here I always felt more capable).

I thought of either
  • Re-studying Classical Mechanics and Quantum Mechanics which are the two courses I felt a disconnection with
  • Fetching a general exercise and solution book to train on, maybe a grad admission testbank where the problems are usually broad and intend on testing all of what I know
  • Or some other activity like reading up some conceptual texts that help me see what I am doing
All I want to achieve is remove the sense of incapability I have when I see a new problem.

Note: Some of the courses I have taken so far:
  • Classical Mechanics - Lacking some knowledge
  • Mathematical Methods - Good enough but could use some help (My math degree has no applied courses)
  • Quantum Mechanics - Very shaky
  • Electromagnetism - Good enough
  • Elementary Particles - Good

I would think it matters quite a bit what you plan to do on graduation. There are likely some areas you could pretty much ignore in order to focus on others that would be more applicable in the long run.

Wrichik Basu

Gold Member
2018 Award
I second what @phinds has said. If you have aims to pursue higher studies in fields related to quantum mechanics, there is no use of going back and studying classical mechanics. For example, you won't need classical physics for nuclear physics, particle physics or condensed matter physics. On the other hand, there are theoretical physicists who work in classical physics alone, and don't need QM a lot.