1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to get good LORs for graduate school after graduating?

1. Nov 7, 2015 #1
    Okay, so I graduated in May with a B.S. in EE and want to attend graduate school for EE with a concentration in solid state devices. I had around a 3.6 GPA and over 160 quantitative and verbal on the GRE. I took a device physics graduate course in my senior year (did well in it too) and after talking to grad students, it seems like a really interesting course of study. The only problem is, it was in my senior year when I realized that I wanted to pursue further education, and I never gave much thought to trying to get recommendations.

I never really interacted much with any of my professors and none of them would remember me, although I did well in most of my courses. So I'm wondering, how would I get letters of recommendations to get accepted into a graduate program (either M.S. or PhD)? I also don't have much research experience, which I know is an important factor in getting accepted into a grad program, and I'm not sure how to get that now that I'm graduated.

If anyone can offer any suggestions as to how to obtain good letters of recommendations after graduating, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2015 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

This is a bit like saying "How do we score more points?" after the game has ended.

I think you just have to ask your former professors. Yes, they are likely not to say you are the strongest candidate for graduate school, but fact of the matter is that you are not the strongest candidate for graduate school.

4. Nov 7, 2015 #3