How to improve critical thinking and awareness

In summary, the student's problem is that he can't keep track of what he's been told, and he tends to forget what he's learned.
weirdlycool
I'm studying physics, and I've covered calculus and general physics.

My problem is:
-My critical thinking is really not good.
-Whenever someone is asking me about say, object A, I would answer something that is not related to object A (I'm not aware of it until that person tell me that I haven't answered his question/ I'm out of the topic).
-I tend to forget the things I've learned in say, two weeks time.
-Typical problems of poor students

Do anyone know what my problem is? I'm not sure if this is just the common problem i.e. lack of focus or awareness. I feel that I'm focused in what I'm doing but still, somebody would tell me that I'm not in focus, etc. Can somebody recommend me a book or any tips on how to resolve and improve my skills? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
weirdlycool said:
I'm studying physics, and I've covered calculus and general physics.

My problem is:
-My critical thinking is really not good.
-Whenever someone is asking me about say, object A, I would answer something that is not related to object A (I'm not aware of it until that person tell me that I haven't answered his question/ I'm out of the topic).
Maybe you're answering too soon; i.e., answering before thinking about what actually was asked. This is probably related to your first point, about critical thinking.
weirdlycool said:
-I tend to forget the things I've learned in say, two weeks time.
The fix for this is to go back and review the earlier topics. Doing something once is probably not enough to get the procedure firmly fixed in your mind.
weirdlycool said:
-Typical problems of poor students
Such as? Please elaborate
weirdlycool said: