Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to solve this 2nd order nonlinear differential equation

1. May 15, 2008 #1
    Hello all,

This is the first time Ive stumbled across this site, but it appears to be extremely helpful. I am a meteorology grad student, and in my research, I have run across the following 2nd order non linear differential equation. It is of the form:

y'' + a*y*y' + b*y=0

where a and b are constants

Can this equation be solved analytically? If not, what program does one recommend for solving it numerically? There is also a slightly more complex form of this equation:

y'' + a*y*y' + b*y=c

where a, b and c are constants

If anyone could assist me in solving this or direct me to a source for solving it numerically, it would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

--tornado

2. jcsd
  3. May 15, 2008 #2
    Try the substitution y' = u to reduce it to a first order system of two ODEs. (Source:Tenenbaum/Pollard)
    Ie., your first ODE becomes the system y' = u, uu' = -ayu - by, where in the second eq. u is treated as u(y) and u' = du/dy, which we can then plug into the first equation to integrate for y(x). The second equation is separable, so there is a straightforward analytic solution.

Last edited: May 15, 2008
  4. May 15, 2008 #3
    slider,

Im not following you. Could you go into a let more detail if possible. Thanks,

--tornado

5. May 15, 2008 #4

Defennder

Homework Helper

Assuming y is function of x, y' = u. u' = d^2y/dx^2 = d/dy (dy/dx) dy/dx by the chain rule. This is equivalent to u du/dy. Hence u' = u du/dy.

After substituting for y' = u, the ODE is u' = -ayu - by. Replacing u' with u du/dy gives:
    u du/dy = -y(au+b) This equation is separable and hence solvable. Once you have u(y), you have dy/dx = u(y), which is again separable and solvable.

6. May 15, 2008 #5
    defennder,