1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ideas for discussions for a math club

1. May 6, 2014 #1
    So I am making a math club for the school year 2014-2015.
    I've taught myself AP calculus AB, BC, differential equations, linear algebra, and some discrete mathematics. I'm a freshman and I don't know how to teach effectively.

So I'll be the president of the club, and teach the members those topics.
    Basically, my school isn't really mathish. I want at least 12 members to join.

I want to know what mathematics competitions there are in silicon valley.
    I also want to know specifically what topics people study for competitive geometry and algebra tests. I want them to learn and have fun.

Any ideas?

2. jcsd
  3. May 6, 2014 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

Check out the "Related Discussions" thread list at the bottom of this page -- that should give you a good start! :-)

4. May 6, 2014 #3
    Welcome to Physics Forums and congrats on learning all that material!

In your math club, you can:
    -fill it with
    -topics can range from history, philosophy, and math education to the discussion and study of particular areas of math
    -run problem solving sessions for both remedial and advanced areas of mathematics
    -cover basic and advanced subjects like high school algebra and geometry to college level courses such as calculus, statistics, analysis, abstract algebra, Real Analysis, Complex Analysis, Number Theory, Topology, Combinatorics, Probability, Linear Algebra, Differential Equations, Statistics, Remedial Math, Mathematics Education etc (I do not mean going deeply into them, maybe just what they are about and so on)
    -why people enjoy math