• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Courses If I struggled in chemistry, would I struggle in physics?

• Thread starter sophia_v
  • Start date
Should I take high school physics when I struggled (but wasn't a total flop) in my chemistry class?

Hello,

I am a high school student in a rigorous high school environment, and I really needed some insight.
I took a chemistry course, and the little math stuff that was required in chemistry was the hardest for me. I also have fulfilled the credits I need for science, however, I still wanted to take physics in my junior year (while I take pre-calculus).

I think the different things physics talk about would be very interesting to learn, but I'm already taking three other rigorous classes.

Should I take physics in my junior year or maybe wait a bit?

Thank you so much for your opinions and time!

fresh_42

Mentor
Insights Author
2018 Award
To answer your question in the title first: This depends on why you struggled. E.g. laziness could be a reason to struggle everywhere. On the other hand are chemistry, physics, biology and mathematics three different fields with different skills required. Of course they are related and people who are good at one of them tend to be not complete idiots in the other. On the other hand, they are e.g. different in the amount of facts which have to be memorized.