1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm a high schooler seeking guidance

1. Dec 25, 2015 #1
    Okay, so I'm only a sophomore in high school, and since I've been little, I've had a passion for 2 things, building small things (legos), and electronics. I'm saving to build my own computer next year.
    Anyhow, I don't know exactly what career I wanna have as a career, I do know that I want to be an engineer, but I'm not sure under which field. Is there a field of engineering working with computers in a physical sense, I'd rather not be a coding engineers. I'm sure that relates to the Legos, I love building smaller things.
    I'm aware this isn't the most organized post, I've never used a forum before, but thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 25, 2015 #2
    I don't know much about it, but does robotics engineering sound okay to what I'm looking for in my interests?
    (Ooh fun fact, I live in Waco, Texas, right by SpaceX!)

4. Dec 25, 2015 #3

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Yes robotics sounds like a good match. Lot of other jobs involve working with computers other than programming, for example Computer Aided Design.

5. Dec 25, 2015 #4
    Thanks for the response, I'd hate to ask, but as a robotics engineer, what are some things I'd come into contact with while working on a daily basis, what's it like being one?

6. Dec 25, 2015 #5
    There's electrical and computer engineering, each of them having many options for what you want to concentrate on.

7. Dec 25, 2015 #6

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Sounds to me like you'd enjoy EECS. But anyway, as a high school sophomore, you have a long time before you have to choose.

8. Dec 25, 2015 #7