Im having a Rough Term, need advice

• Thread starter NanjoeBot
  • Start date
Hi everyone,
Im in my third year of studying chemical engineering. Its been ALoT of work so far, but its always been manageable and ive been able pass every class so far and I have a pretty good gpa (3.5). However, this current term is really killing me. I dedicate every waking moment, that im not in class, to homework. And I still cant keep up! Even on the weekends, I start my days by 8:00am and just study until midnight but I still just cant keep up. This term has just barely started and Im approaching my breaking point in a way that I never have before. Its not just me either, everyone in my program is having a really hard time.

Can anyone provide any insight on how I could maybe preform better or be efficient enough to keep up?

Thank you.

Answers and Replies

Pick one person in each of your classes and resolve that, "No matter what they earn in the end, I'm going to do better." :D

Better advice: re-evaluate your study habits. You may very well be doing something inefficiently. Is your study area too noisy? Too quiet? Maybe it's too cluttered and it's distracting? Are you simply not understanding your assignments? In that case, you might benefit from haunting your professor's office hours. Are you working with anyone else? That can help you more than you know.

Bear in mind, though, that nobody in college is more stressed than the person with the 4.0. Being stressed and studying long hours tells me you're doing something right :P

Can anyone provide any insight on how I could maybe preform better or be efficient enough to keep up?

Something that you might consider is dropping some classes if you can do it without academic penalty.