Need Advice on studying in my first University Physics class

• Thread starter freeswordfish
  • Start date
freeswordfish
I am a 26-year-old nontraditional student in college, and I am struggling heavily with my University Physics class.

Although I have never taken a Physics course before in my life, since my major is Math I thought this introductory-level class wouldn't be that bad. It is.

I do read the textbook and go to office hours. I go to the tutoring center when I need to. My homework assignments are scored at 100%, but on our first midterm this week I earned a 73% (68% before the curve, class average was 61% before the curve).

I guess I didn't understand the material like I thought I did. I'm not used to this, since I have had all A's in my math classes (College Algebra up to Multivariable Calculus).

Sometimes I feel like I get it. Sometimes I don't. Sometimes when I sit down and actually try to do our assigned problem sets, I just can't. I don't even know where to begin. I have no physical intuition and I am completely stuck and even dense to hints on some occasions.

Someone said to me, "it's just algebra". Which I agree it is a bit, but how can I pursue a math degree if I can't conquer a course in "just algebra"?

Does anyone who has gone through a similar experience have any advice they can offer me? Should I hop on Khan Academy? Any problem book recommendations? Should I give up and quit now?!

I bought this book https://www.amazon.com/dp/1482086921/?tag=pfamazon01-20 off of Amazon, I'm hoping it can help me.

Physics news on Phys.org
freeswordfish said:
Although I have never taken a Physics course before in my life, since my major is Math I thought this introductory-level class wouldn't be that bad. It is.