I'm new to proofs. Would someone please give me an opinion on my proof?

In summary, the conversation discussed the use of twelve basic properties of numbers in a proof. These properties include the associative law for addition, additive identity, additive inverse, commutative law for addition, associative law for multiplication, multiplicative identity, multiplicative inverse, commutative law for multiplication, distributive law, trichotomy law, closure under addition, and closure under multiplication. The conversation also included an attempt at a proof using these properties to show that if 0 < a < b, then a < √(ab) < (a+b)/2 < b. Suggestions were given to use the properties more explicitly and to simplify certain steps in the proof.
nietzsche
My prof gave us twelve basic properties of numbers, and I think I'm supposed to use those in my proof, but I'm not sure how to incorporate them.

The properties are:
P1 Associative law for addition
P2 Additive identity
P3 Additive inverse
P4 Commutative law for addition
P5 Associative law for multiplication
P6 Multiplicative identity
P7 Multiplicative inverse
P8 Commutative law for multiplication
P9 Distributive law
P10 Trichotomy law
P11 Closure under addition
P12 Closure under multiplication

Homework Statement

Prove that if 0 < a < b, then

[tex]a < \sqrt{ab} < \frac{a + b}{2} < b[/tex]

Homework Equations

N/A

The Attempt at a Solution

Part I:

[tex]
\begin{align*}
a&<b\\
a^2&<ab\\
\sqrt{a^2}&<\sqrt{ab}\\
a&<\sqrt{ab}
\end{align*}
[/tex]

Part II:

[tex]
Suppose:
\begin{align*}
\sqrt{ab}&\geq\frac{a+b}{2}\\
ab&\geq\left(\frac{a+b}{2}\right)^2\\
ab&\geq\frac{a^2+2ab+b^2}{4}\\
4ab&\geq a^2+2ab+b^2\\
0&\geq a^2-2ab+b^2\\
0&\geq (a-b)^2\\
\end{align*}
[/tex]

[tex]
but:
\begin{align*}
0&<(a-b)^2\\
\therefore \sqrt{ab}&<\frac{a+b}{2}
\end{align*}
[/tex]

Part III:

[tex]
\begin{align*}
a&<b\\
a+b &< b+b\\
a+b &< 2b\\
\frac{a+b}{2} &< b
\end{align*}
[/tex]