Importance of [reputation of] Graduate School

In summary, an excellent advisor is important, but it's not necessary to go to a prestigious university to find one.
cestyx
Hello,

Do you think the university where you did your phd is important when it comes to finding a job / a postdoc / a professorship? Question applies in the US but also in Europe.

Let's say I have a master of science from the one of the best universities in Europe, and I am accepted at various universities in Europe and in the US for my phd. Would it be a bad idea to go to a university that is not so well known if one has the possibility to go to the most renowned graduate schools?

The reason I ask is because I would rather go to place X, which is a university somewhere in western europe that is not well known but where a few people are working in the field I am interested in. I like the city, life is not so expensive there I can get good fundings. Will it make any difference later?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, it's important.
It's important because in a university of good reputation you'd find a good research advisor.
And you need a good research advisor to propel you career.
You can look up on the important on having a good research advisor on the internet.
Basically that's it, it's important to go to prestigious graduate school in order to get good research advisors.

If you have a good research advisor, he/she wiill basically make your research work famous.