Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Introduction to Finite Element Analysis

1. Oct 2, 2012 #1
    Folks,

I have the book An Introduction to the Finite Element Method by J.N Reddy.
    The following website provides

http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/0072466855/student_view0/executables.html

access to the Fortran Executable but I am not sure how to work them. I am just beginning to learn Fortran.

Any advice will be appreciated
    Regards
    Eddie

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 2, 2012 #2
    You would be well advised to go for a better book. This one is not a patch on his other book.
    Then you might not need Fortran.

Basic was an interpreted form of Fortran (in a way) but Fortran itself is a compiled language that requires pre assembly (processing) to input to the compiler and in a standard way so unless you have good reason to want it (it is not dead) then it is best avoided.

4. Oct 2, 2012 #3
    What is his other book? I have bought this book and currently self studying page by page. Currently at page 122, so I am not sure I want to start another one....?

I would like to learn some programming language so I could write FE programs in the future (although this is not critical, I want to at least understand FE Theory as I use FEA alot in my work as an Engineer). I figured Fortran would be the way to go...but I realize it is un user friendly and huge learning curve...any other suggestions?

5. Oct 2, 2012 #4
    Reddy was a pioneer of FE stuff and wrote the early 'book'.

However it is very dated now and always was hard to follow.

However he also wrote about about the theory which leads up to and ends with FE called

Applied Functional Analysis and Variational Methods in Engineering.

This is a really good book. It is a readable and usable blend of engineering and maths filled with real examples and background theory, both in maths and engineering.