1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is a doctorate required to teach college?

1. Jan 23, 2009 #1
    I have been a software developer for about 35 years now and having reached my second childhood am interested in changing careers. I'm working on a bachelor's in physics and was wondering whether a PhD is required to teach at the college level or whether a masters will be acceptable.

In the computer field, job descriptions generally indicate that a bachelor's degree is required, but that isn't actually the case. Most employers (all that I've ever encountered) are much more interested in experience than a degree. When a listing for a physics instructor indicates that a doctorate is required, is that actually the case?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 23, 2009 #2
    When they specifically state that a PhD is required- yes they mean it. I have known many instructors in physics who are ABD (All But Dissertation). They, however, are not on the tenure track and when funding cuts to the department come, they are the ones who get hit the hardest.

The instructors I have known who did not have a PhD were all on yearly contracts. This means the department can simply not renew your contract the next year for no reason.

This is all talking about a 4 year university. At the community college level (2 year degree granting schools) this may not be the case. I don't have any experience at that level.

4. Jan 23, 2009 #3
    Thank you for the reply.

In that case, I might be better off completing my bachelor's with a teaching certificate. Then I could teach at the high school level while working on a doctorate.

5. Jan 23, 2009 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor