Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is a Subway footlong worth the money?

1. Sep 21, 2016 #1
    I'm a college student, and lately I've been buying nothing but Subway footlongs at my school for around $7 - $8 per day.

Is this really cost efficient for the amount of calories/nutrients I get?

If not then what could I possibly cook or buy to save money? I would like to continue eating healthy though, so eating ramen noodles might not be a good idea, since I need protein etc...

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 21, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

It would be more cost effective to go to the market, buy your supplies and make your own meals. There is no easy fast and cheap method of eating healthy and well but going to the market is a definite step in the right direction.

4. Sep 21, 2016 #3
    Great thanks! I also think that's a good idea.

5. Sep 21, 2016 #4
    I'm not sure this is true because places like Subway buy their supplies in bulk at much cheaper prices than a consumer can get them at the market. After Subway adds their markup, it could well be that the consumer is paying pretty much the same price for the same amount of "calories and nutrients."

I do not know this for a fact, but if a person kept close track of what they were spending to eat home made Subway type meals, they could determine if it was true.

6. Sep 21, 2016 #5
    Subway is bottom feeder sandwiches. There are so many better sub options. Really shocked how many Subways there are and how many people eat there.

7. Sep 21, 2016 #6

Evo