1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is this possible? Omnidirectional Load Pin

1. Nov 17, 2014 #1
    Please take a look at the attached diagram. This is a rough representation of a concept my team and I would like to implement in a project. Initial research suggests that such pin-based weighing systems are strictly unidirectional (i.e the basic clevis pin loan cells). Our platform rotates while bearing a load with force always in direction of gravity i.e. load does not rotate with weighing cylinder, but "hangs" (forgive my verbiage here - I'm not an engineer). Hopefully the diagram conveys the idea. Assuming I've provided enough information, is this possible either utilizing currently available hardware or designing a new load sensor with multiple strategically placed strain gauges?

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    What is the problem this device is supposed to overcome - and what is it supposed to do?

It is usually not desirable to allow the load pin to rotate, but it is not forbidden.
    An unthreaded clevis pin passing right through the clevis and held by a split pin, or even a regular bolt, will do this.

4. Nov 18, 2014 #3

Danger

Gold Member

More importantly, what's our cut of the royalties? :p

5. Nov 19, 2014 #4