1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

It seems like I struggle no matter what in physics

1. Mar 20, 2013 #1
    Hello everyone. Posting here hoping that maybe someone can give me some advice. I am a sophomore math major currently taking general physics 2 (waves/e&m/circuits) and am struggling horribly. I had the same problem in physics 1 and I was hoping that somehow I would have an easier time in physics 2 but that is not the case. Of course when I first started struggling I figured I just wasn't working hard enough/reading the chapters, so naturally I went on to just reading the chapters, which hasn't worked, I have tried outlining each chapter, only writing down definitions/equations in the chapter while reading, reading and taking notes in the margins, looking for youtube videos, reading wikipedia articles, etc, nothing seems to work.

It's frustrating because I feel like no matter what I do it is a struggle. I have always people tell me "I'm not good at x I just don't get it" and I always assumed they just weren't working hard enough but I feel like I am in that exact situation. I don't understand what is wrong, I love math and am currently in calculus 3 and sure I have had my difficult times in calculus but I have been able to work through them, but with physics it's like I'm constantly hitting a wall. I will read the chapter, turn to the homework, struggle through about three problems and be unable to complete the rest.

Even in lecture I have a difficult time. To me it feels like my physics professors just slap things together and I just have a hard time following what is going on. I know this is a lot of ranting but I am just so frustrated, I feel like I'm incapable of doing well and enjoying physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 20, 2013 #2

micromass