Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I've observed that by putting great effort into learning concepts

1. Sep 15, 2011 #1
    I've observed that by putting great effort into learning concepts which initially seem incomprehensible or very difficult to conceptualise, even if it may at first appear like I made little or no progress, I usually end up with enhanced cognitive abilities which extend beyond the concepts I was training myself to comprehend. For example I'm a chemistry student and although my thinking style (which is a combo of visual and kinaesthetic) gives me an edge in some areas of chemistry, it seems to make others areas a huge challenge, to overcome which I have to spend a long time contemplating the concepts from different angles until I eventually gain an intuitive understanding of them. I've noticed on numerous occasions that as a result of my arduous efforts to gain this intuitive understanding, I not only gain the intuition necessary to contemplate these particular chemistry concepts, I find myself with the ability to think about things that I was previously incapable of contemplating dexterously. These cognitive abilities only become available to me days later. I suspect neuroplasticity may play a role in all this. I think that I end up with these additional cognitive abilities days later because my brain has literally formed the connections necessary to think in such a way. I'm guessing plenty of you here have observed this kinda thing too.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2011 #2

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

Re: Neuroplasticity