1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Joule Heating of Metals with Different Resistivities

1. Sep 3, 2014 #1
    Hello,

I am a high school student carrying out a physics experiment.

I created a short circuit in order to see how much heat different types of metals would release when a current is running through them (4.5 A). In my experiment, I tested three different types of metals: Brass, Stainless Steel, and Aluminium.

Stainless Steel 304 has a resistivity of2.84∗ 10^(-7) Ohm meters(AK Steel.).

Aluminium 6063 has a resistivity of 3.32 ∗ 10^(-8) Ohm meters("ALCOA 6063.").

Free Machining Brass 3604 has a resistivity of 5.9 ∗ 10^(-8)Ohm meters(The Engineering Toolbox. "Resistivity, Conductivity and Temperature Coefficients for Some Common Materials." )

I immersed 4 cm of these three different metals all with the same diameter of 3mm into 20ml of vegetable oil and observed the change in temperature by using a thermometer. The container with the vegetable oil where the experiment was conducted was surrounded by a layer of glass fiber to insulate it.

Due to Joule's First Law, which is that Q=RtI^2
    (R= Resistance, t=time period, I=current)
    In my experiment, I kept current and time period constant.

I expected that:
    Heat Released by Stainless Steel> Heat Released by Brass> Heat Released by Aluminium

However, when I actually did the experiment,
    Heat Released by Stainless Steel>Heat Released by Aluminium>Heat Released by Brass

Can anyone offer an explanation for this?

Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2014 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello Steve, and welcome to PF!

So qualitatively things didn't go as you expected. It happens; welcome to physics in general...