1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Leaving graduate school for a semester?

1. Jun 4, 2016 #1
    Hello everyone,

I have a couple of questions. I'm an incoming graduate student starting in the fall, and working with a group at my future graduate school this summer. I do not want the pity of anyone in my department (especially as a new student) so I'm aware that the answers I get here may be pretty general.

I moved across the country a month ago today, and found out today that my mom's cancer has returned with vengeance. I need to entertain the possibility of going home for a semester - this may not happen, but it's a "hope for the best, prepare for the worst" kind of scenario. All of my fellowships and support are on a semester-by-semester basis, so taking a semester off should not pose any issues in that regard. I do have two questions though.

1) Will I be able to return to the university after a semester off, or will I need to re-apply?
    2) This is more for anyone who has ever done this... how on Earth did you afford it? Even if I can manage to find a subleaser for my apartment for a semester, my loans will no longer be deferred and I cannot afford to make loan payments for a semester without having any income.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 4, 2016 #2
    Ask the university not us.