1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mandatory (online) courses for theoretical physics

1. May 21, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I am a master student in physics. I have come to realize that I will probably not work in a highly theoretical field in the future as I do not believe I stand a real chance in this world. However I want to learn as much as I can "on the side".

Which set of courses would you recommend to get as far as possible in theoretical physics (QFT, QED, strings and their link to particle physics etc.) ? Including maths courses.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2015 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello Mishra,

There's a whole load of excellent lectures by Leonard Susskind at Stanford.
    I recommend Special relativity which isn't really what it says: after a few lectures he introduces field theory and that's what it's about.

4. May 23, 2015 #3
    Hello BvU,

Thanks for you answer.
    I've followed a few lectures from Susskind (GR, QM, Statistical mechanics, Classical mechanics). He is great . But I am looking for something more technical (or formal). His lectures are somewhat missing some maths. Strangely I feel like they are great for someone who already knows the subjects and would be looking for Susskind's unique point of view and ways of doing physics.

I've followed David Tong's QFT lectures (www youtube.com/watch?v=8yplCob7_Ck.) That was more like what I'm looking for: "formal" physics.

5. May 23, 2015 #4

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello Mishra,