1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math/science sequence up to Astrophysics?

1. Jan 29, 2012 #1
    Hi,

I'm new to PhysicsForums.
    I am a sophomore in high school and currently in Geometry/Honors Chemistry. I am fascinated with astrophysics, and I really want to learn everything about it. I will be teaching all of this to myself, so I'd just like the sequence. I think it goes like this..

Trig --> Calculus --> Multivariable Calculus --> Linear Algebra --> ? ..Then what?

I'll take Honors Physics next year and AP Chem. by senior year.

So far, I understand the basics of trig and a little calculus. I don't want to wait... I am so inspired and want to learn everything about black holes, worm holes, galaxies...EVERYTHING!

PS: Don't tell me to wait or anything! I really want to do this!

Thanks!!! :)

- Brooke

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 29, 2012 #2

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

Well, most astrophysics will get by with just the mathematics you have listed here, with the addition of a course in differential equations (and perhaps partial differential equations).

Slightly more advanced mathematics is necessary to learn about General Relativity (the theory of black holes, worm holes, and cosmology), but likely if you're approaching the subject from an astrophysics perspective, you can learn everything you need to know in the class (or book).

4. Jan 29, 2012 #3
    Ok, thanks. So if I do this:

- Self-study AP Calculus AB/BC - which I heard covers up to Calc II
    - MIT Opencourseware up to Physics II
    - and my science sequence

Will I be good for astrophysics?

Thanks!

5. Jan 29, 2012 #4

Nabeshin

Science Advisor