Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanical Engineering Worth It?

1. Oct 29, 2012 #1
    I am currently a Sophomore in Mechanical Engineering. To give you guys some background, I have been involved with motor sports my whole life (I have raced motocross most of my life), so Engineering was right up my alley, and it has always interested me. I haven't had much trouble in Engineering as of yet (all A's and B's) and I have been through all the Physics, almost done with the Math (currently in Calculus 3) and done with all my sort of "pre-req" classes. I am taking Statics right now and I am doing really well, and have an A in the class.

I have some questions though...

What is a mechanical engineering job like compared to school as far as fun, difficulty, time, etc?

As I am sure most of you know, engineering takes up a lot of free time (although I still have quite a bit since I manage my time well) and was wondering if it pays off in the end?

Is mechanical engineering a degree worth having?

I guess these questions are a bit subjective, opinionated, and maybe plain stupid, but I guess I am looking for some encouragement or feedback.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 29, 2012 #2
    What would you want to study otherwise? What else do you enjoy? You also haven't given it that much of a chance yet, you're only a sophomore and most of your real classes are ahead of you. Look at the job market right now, too. Graduates with an engineering degree are far better off that the rest of us from this basic viewpoint.

4. Oct 29, 2012 #3