1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MIT transfer?

1. Jun 23, 2010 #1

d10

Hi everyone!
    I'm a student at IT-BHU,India.I've completed 2 semesters and i have a cgpa of 9.65.I'm a Mechanical Engineering student.I want to apply for the MIT transfer program.Since I have limited funds,I want to know about my chances before applying.I took the SAT 1(2240), SAT 2 (790 in physics,766 in math) and TOEFL(612) last year.However,I featured in the top 2.5% in my first attempt at IITJEE(not enough to get into IIT).So I took a second shot and landed at (I)IT-BHU.Also during that year(the year preceding the 2nd JEE) I wrote papers on Robotics(humanoid balance) and Electromagnetic Radiations and an essay on topological constraints on warping of space-time.Prior to that I've been in the school soccer team(playing at the national level),the school band,and held informal classes for juniors for physics.I've mostly worked in the school labs and so made a lot of rough essays on my experiments and projects(most of them apart from the text book).I managed a meagre 82% in my class 12.At college I'm a part of the instructor team(from my freshman year itself)of the automotive engineering and robotics clubs,apart from the college sports teams.I'm not VERY popular with the professors due to my attendance record(due to the time I spend for sports,at the local hospital,unorthodox experiments and teaching a poor group of students outside the campus).
    Am I a competitive candidate for the MIT transfer program?Also is it true that Caltech doesn't fund transfer students anymore?or is it just the un-updated site?!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2010 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award