1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Moving Across the Country(Concerns about degree)

1. Apr 3, 2010 #1
    Hey,

So I did a search and couldn't find much on this topic, maybe mostly since I don't know to word it correctly.

Anyway, when I finish my degree in a year or two I plan on packing up and leaving the blistering cold and humid heat of the northeast for sunny warm Northern California, particularly SF. I am majoring in EE/CE so I figure there are some good opportunities out there plus I just want to go because I'm sick of my home state. Problem is that my degree, while of course from an ABET program isn't from a nationally recognized school(It's from the second best Public Uni in the state, out of 4). How much is this going to hurt me? I plan on packing up and moving out as soon as I am done so I would be hoping to find me first "real" job in SF.

Granted I'm going to try to have a good internship at what will probably be a well known national company, since my uni has good local industry ties are and I am in the number 2 or 3 top technology job area in the US probably. But how difficult will I find it getting a job somewhere 3000 miles away if my potential employers aren't familiar with my school?

Corollary: When you make up a resume is it dishonest or frowned upon to not put the campus you attended? For example: Say you had went to University of Texas-Dallas or something and you just put UoT on your resume? I mean it will probably encourage people to find that you went to that nationally known campus in Austin but it's not incorrect and might just be more straightforward to someone with no knowledge of that locale?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 4, 2010 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor