My aspirations would like some flavor from seasoned Pros

• Thread starter Uranus
  • Start date
In summary: Becoming a professor is a very difficult and competitive process, and there's a good chance you won't be able to achieve that without a PhD.
Uranus
Hi all,

I am a student in community college. I fell behind in math in high school, so even though it is my softmore year I am just starting college math now. I am 21 so I am also a bit old but I believe I can achieve my dream which is to become a theoretical physicist in some field... I believe I can catch up in my math this year and over the summer before next year. I was wondering if anyone can please enlighten me as to some good classes to take before I transfer to a four year school this year (or any of the later years) that apply to what I want to do? I was thinking that people on these forums would have some good advice who have already gone through the process

Physics news on Phys.org
This website describes in detail the coursework normally required for aspiring physicists. If you are just starting out, I'd say the most important math classes for introductory physics are calculus and linear algebra.

First, you don't have the right to say "I'm old" at 21. Sheesh. :)

Different 2 year colleges have different classes and different 4 year colleges have different requirements, so I'm not sure anybody can tell you exactly which classes to take. You should check with the school or schools you wish to transfer to.

Does the two year institution you are offering offer an associates in math or physics? Having that little credential is likely to save you from having to take non-major classes at a four year school.

Otherwise, I would say take as much math as humanly possible. Dare I say even at the expense of physics classes, which you can take from the more experienced (usually ) professors at the 4 year school?

-DaveK