Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help understanding quantum Mechanics

1. Sep 9, 2010 #1
    Hello friends, I am a student of VLSI and have initial topics of quantum mechanics in my course work.
    I am experiencing some difficulties in understanding the same and i will post my queries here.

Some of my doubts may be silly (as i am going through these topics after 6 years), hence i request for your patience.

To start with, i am quoting a statement by de broglie
    (Query 1)
    I am experiencing trouble understanding the bold parts.
    Please explain it.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2010 #2
  4. Sep 9, 2010 #3
    Remember chemistry? With that 1s2 2s2 2p6 3s2 3p4 -type description for orbitals? Well those are the quantum integers describing "the stable motion of electrons in the atom". Plug these in the correct shrodinger equation solution (wave function of the selected atom) and you get the geometry for the orbital.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_configuration

That is what he's saying before the comma. Before QM, the only similar physical phenomena was with waves. For example, one can assign an integer for each musical note (soundwave). That is totally exact and rigorous, it's just easier to say do re mi etc. instead.

5. Sep 10, 2010 #4
    The 'bold part' of your quotation of de Broglie:
    What granpa and Dr Lots-o'watts offered -- plus I would say just consider standing wave patterns. The resonant, vibrational frequencies manifest in integer multiples. This is demonstrable macroscopically, and it seems to be a working principle at the submicroscopic scale as well. Of course, the only 'description' of the submicroscopic scale is mathematical, but the math is based on macroscopic analogs, and it produces very accurate predictions wrt instrumental behavior.

Does this help at all? It's the way I, at least begin to, 'understand' it.