Newton's laws are the foundation stone of modern day mechanical engineering

In summary, Newton's laws, particularly his laws of motion, are the foundation stone of modern day mechanical engineering and are essential for understanding and solving problems in dynamics, fluid mechanics, vibrations, kinematics, and other areas. While there were other ancient and Renaissance scholars who also contributed to mechanical knowledge, Newton's laws are considered to be the cornerstone of classical mechanics, which forms the basis for mechanical engineering.
anb2020
"Newton's laws are the foundation stone of modern day mechanical engineering."

Do you agree? Why?

Engineering news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hi anb2020! welcome to pf! :wink:

tell us what you think, and then we'll comment! :smile:

I agree of course .. I'm a mechanical engineering student ..
Most of our studies are based on Newton's laws ..
Dynamics, Fluid mechanics, Vibrations, Kinematics, ...

But I want to hear what you think : )

anb2020 said:

I think Newton sucks :rolleyes:

Well I'd say that the laws of friction (Da Vinci) are more important to mechanical engineering than N1, N2 and N3. Little mech eng would be possible without friction.

Now can you tell us any other laws of importance in mech eng, some going back to the Ancient Greeks?

By the way my charges for answering your homework question here are $1,000,000 - I need that to bribe Greg for the infraction. Don't post homework here, post it in the proper place next time.

Last edited:
:approve:dont forget Newton's law of cooling,and his grand work in maths

Those crazy mech E's: always neglecting to take relativity into account in their calculations. It's a wonder anything works...

...oh wait, no it isn't. :wink:

Studiot said:
Well I'd say that the laws of friction (Da Vinci) are more important to mechanical engineering than N1, N2 and N3. Little mech eng would be possible without friction.