1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Number minus sum of digits is dividable by 9

1. Aug 11, 2011 #1
    Hello!
    Why is it so, that if you have a number, for example 183, you take the sum of the digits of that number, so 183-(1+8+3), u get a number that is always dividable by 9?

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm not very good at math but still curious to know.

Last edited: Aug 11, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2011 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

You might find it interesting to look into the concept of positional notation. This kind of problem is trivial if you think about the underlying number system:

100a +10b + c -a -b -c = 99a - 9b = 9(9a -b)

4. Aug 11, 2011 #3

gb7nash

Homework Helper

Phinds meant 9(11a -b), but the major point is that this is a multiple of 9.

5. Aug 11, 2011 #4

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

HA ... it was so simple, I screwed it up. :tongue:

Actually, my point was not that this is a multiple of 9, that's trivial. My point is that if you understand positional notion then most such "problems" are trivial.

6. Aug 11, 2011 #5
    You may be interested to know that there are a wide variety of divisibility tests which are easily proven using positional notation and modular arithmetic as phinds has mentioned. This particular question is a consequence of the divisibility test for 9:

A number is divisible by 9 if and only if the sum of its digits is.

You can search for similar divisibility tests, the test for 11 is quite interesting for example,

A number is divisible by 11 if and only if the alternating sum of its digits is.

So take for example 2816 and add the digits in alternating order 2 - 8 + 1 - 6 = -11 which is divisible by 11. So that means the original number is also.

7. Sep 9, 2011 #6