Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Optoelectronics: Dark current caused by Quantum fluctuations?

1. Jun 17, 2013 #1
    Hello Physics Forums,

This is my first time posting so apologies for any mistakes or misunderstand of forum etiquette here.

I am having difficulty understanding a phenomenon known as "dark current"

I've tried for a few hours to research it but most of what i find is very vague on the subject and still leaves me with many questions. There is very little information i can find in the way of explanations.

I have a basic understand of semiconductor physics but i'm stumped at understanding exactly how dark current occurs in the physical sense.

If anyone could shed some light on this for me, it would be greatly appreciated.

Once again i apologise if i have posted in the wrong section or violated any forum regulations.

Many thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2013 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

If your semiconductor has a non-zero temperature, there is thermal energy in it. Usually, this is not sufficient to produce an electron/hole pair, but sometimes enough energy is available for a single electron to bring it from the valence band to the conduction band.
    The electron energy levels are quantum mechanics, but the thermal fluctuations can be explained with classical physics.

4. Jun 17, 2013 #3

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is a very broad question with no single answer.